Games I’ve Played – Part I – Forgotten Treasures On Old Consoles

From an early age I was attracted to virtual worlds.. fantasy worlds that unleashed the craziest ideas the human mind can create.

Through the limitless boundaries of imagination, various people, entrepreneurs of creativity put ideas together to obtain some of the best productions of the digital age.

I don’t clearly remember at what age I played my first video-game but I remember the hours of fun and joy I had.61fF2JW5QpL._SL1024_

My first consoles were the Brick Game console, a Terminator and a Sega console. The Brick Game had 9999 variations of a few games. The classic tetris, snake, tank battles, car racing, crossing platforms, building while shooting bullets and a various selection of other different games.

The Terminator console and the SEGA one were my favorite hobbies at that time. I played games like Contra, Kabuki, Street Fighter, various Mario games, Tank 2000, FIFA 95, Double Dragon, Robocop, Tom & Jerry, The Jungle Book, a Samurai game that I can’t find anywhere which was my favorite. I also had a pistol for games like Duck Hunt and Wild Gunman. From there – my passion for first person shooters started to be shaped :)).

Another console was something I found into a MCDonald’s Happy Meal menu – a small device that had only one game, with Knuckles from Sonic – The Hedgehog series.

71oKJwn38ZL._SL1075_Knuckles Soccer is a handheld LCD game distributed as a McDonald’s Happy Meal toy for a limited time in 2003. This was one of six such games. In Knuckles Soccer, the player takes control of Knuckles the Echidna as he protects his goal from oncoming soccer balls, courtesy of Dr. Robotnik. After catching ten balls, Knuckles will progress to the next level where the speed increases. If Knuckles misses five balls in the same level, the game ends. There are five levels total. Knuckles Soccer was one of the four McDonald’s LCD games available for free in the Sega area of E3 2003 in Los Angeles, California. In the SEGA area, there was a large Sonic Happy Meal Box with holes in the top, allowing visitors to reach in and receive a free LCD game.

I remember spending hours and hours in front of the TV playing all the worlds in Mario and then replaying them on another difficulty until I saved 4 or 5 princesses in a row. In Tank I was playing with my uncle in battles against each other or creating maps. Fifa was another incredible experience. I was battling all the teams and of course I was beating them all. Duck Hunting was my breakfast and I remember being absorbed when I found the brain-boss in Contra.

While in primary school, we would find ourselves skipping classes to go to a bar where there were some devices like slots machines, some arcades where we could play Rambo and King of Fighters ’97.

Oh..such distant memories, yet so fresh and appealing.

[next article.. java, symbian, android games that I’ve played]

Leave a Reply

